I love languages

This week was my first week back at school. It’s wild to think that I have been out of school for a whole year already.

After France, I decided to pursue my love of languages, by enrolling in a teaching English as a second language (TESL) diploma program at a local college, and by taking a French course.

Walking into my first TESL class this week and sitting through my first full day of classes, meeting people who also have a love of languages I knew I made the right choice.

“If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his own language, that goes to his heart”. – Nelson Mandela

I think learning a new language is not only fascinating but humbling. I think it is important for all people to experience the struggles associated with learning a new foreign language – such as English or French.

It is not an easy feat to learn a completely different language from your own. Having an understanding of this fact and other languages not only makes it easier to connect with other people but it also opens our eyes to the vast cultures that exist on this planet. Cultural difference is incredible.

“Learning a foreign language, and the culture that goes with it, is one of the most useful things we can do to broaden the empathy and imaginative sympathy and cultural outlook of children” – Michael GoveΒ 

Leave a Reply

