It’s hard to be kind when you’re miserable

Alright, here is some real talk.

I started this blog at the end of last year because I wanted an outlet to put my thoughts, and be held accountable for my actions.

But something I have realized is that it is pretty damn difficult to be kind to other people when you are really unhappy.

I know for me this is certainly true. When I feel at ease (which is rare) I find it much easier to smile at strangers, offer them help and be kind to people who I love. But as soon as my mood shifts, I become overwhelmed and get really unhappy, that ease sort of disappears.

I have been reading a lot about the power of positive thinking and the difference that changing your perspective can have not only on your current mood, but also your entire outlook on life.

I do agree with Charles R. Swindoll when he said – “Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it”, however, I found really difficult to follow through with what he is talking about.

Yes, I know shitty things exist in this world. Sometimes it feels like that is all there is -shitty things that apparently have no solutions. Or that nobody seems to give a rat’s ass about them.

Why don’t people care that there are human beings living on the streets? Why don’t people care that some families can barely afford to put food on their tables, clothe their children, and provide them with a safe and loving home? Why don’t people care about animals being slaughtered and being kept in horrifying conditions? What about animals being tested on, why does nobody care about them?

Have people become so self-involved that they don’t care about anything that doesn’t impact them directly?

I don’t know about any of you (whoever you are reading my blog) but I will never stop caring. I will not change who I am, I will not stop caring about human beings, all living things and our environment.

No matter how miserable I get I will always be grateful for the world we live in.

I am at a confusing time in my life – I am unemployed and cry regularly – but no matter how miserable I get in my life I will always make an effort to extend kindness to others and the world we live in.

I hope you all do to. We all have our own stories and are fighting our own battles but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t help each their along the way.

Leave a Reply

