France – Day 20, 21, 22 & 23: Post-Graduation Reflections

This week marks a year since I graduated university. Several of my friends are graduating this week, and I am so proud!

At this time I can’t help but think about where I am now since I have graduated. Yes, you got it, reflecting again!

I am pretty excited with where I am right now. Since graduating I haven’t truly figured out what I want to do. I know that my degree was the right decision and I know that I am heading in the right direction.

There are times when I get very overwhelmed and I feel so lost, but there are times like right now, when I feel at ease and happy with the direction of my life.

I usually associate these feelings of ease with my yoga and meditation practice.

I also think that being away from family, friends and my partner makes me realize just how much love I have in my life.

Now onto Day 20, 21, 22, 23 of my current trip to France!

Day 20

Today was a work day. I spent the morning running through all the new applications for La Giraudiere the project I am currently interning at in the south west of France. If you are interested in learning more about the project you can check out their website. At the end of my internship I will do a more detailed post about my experience and thoughts about the program.

Day 21

Another working day. Today I had the opportunity to speak with a French women before dinner. I was pleasently surprised to learn that I could understand quite a lot of what she was saying. Learning the language is definitely a slow and steady process.

Intern in south west France

Beautiful sunset in Brossac – the Charante region of France

Day 22

Today was another working day, so I will spare you the details. It was a beautiful, hot day in Brossac. For dinner we went to a local Fish and Chips restaurant where we had some drinks and great food. I started my dinner with a nice cold beer, perfect on a very hot day.

Volunteer in south west France

Cold beer in Chalais – Charante region of France

As I am a vegetarian I did not eat fish, I had a salade verte avec les frites (salad with fries). For dessert I had a delicious fondant au chocolat. This was by far the greatest cake I have had, maybe ever. It was just divine.

Volunteer in France

Fondant au chocolat in Chalais – Charante region in France

Day 23 

Today I had another group French lesson, which was much more successful than the week before. After the lesson I went for a brief walk around the area before I sat down with the rest of the group to have dinner.

Charante region in France

Beautiful views in Brossac

After dinner, two other volunteers and I went into the village to play Pétanque with some locals. This was definitely a good way to practice my French. While there I learned that I should no longer say I do not speak French, but instead say I do and really work on listening and figuring out how to respond to the person whom I am speaking with. Having a little bit more faith in my abilities.

Pétanque in France

Playing pétanque

Leave a Reply

