France – Day 10

I am officially out of Paris. I checked out of my hostel this morning, and made my way to the train station to catch the train south. 

I gave myself about two hours at the train station and I am sure glad I did. I had pre-booked my ticket via loco2.com. When I got to the station I had some difficulty figuring out where and what I was supposed to do. I spoke with several attendants with varying levels of English, who all directed me towards the 2nd floor. 
By the time I made it to the 2nd floor I was tired and getting concerned that my ticket was a fraud and that I would have to purchase another one. 

Luckily, when I got the front of the line my reservation was found and my tickets printed. 

My journey on the train was about 4 hours, with one transfer. Overall, the process was fairly simple, but the station in Paris was the most confusing bit. 

  

I arrived in Chalais at about 6:30pm or 18h30. Someone from my volunteer placement picked me up at the station and took me to the residence where I will be staying for about 4 weeks. 
I will be interning here, helping out with applications, other things and learning to speak French at the same time. I will be getting about 3 French lessons a week. 

Four of us went out for dinner at a local restaurant. I was starving as I had  not eaten anything for lunch. 

I am excited for what this opportunity brings. I am looking forward to being pushed beyond my comfort zone, meeting new people and learning a new language. 

2 thoughts on “France – Day 10

Leave a Reply

