France – Day 4

I experienced both feelings of happiness and loneliness while out in Paris today. 

Initially, I woke up in a very good mood. I got to sleep in, take a shower and do I what I wanted to do. I didn’t have to worry about keeping anybody waiting. 

I walked to Parc des Buttes-Chaumont, which is about 10 minutes from my hostel. On the way I stopped at a cute little bakery and bought a croissant. 

I spent my day at the park reading my book, people watching and reflecting. While I was watching everybody, I started to get a little lonely. I thought about how literally nobody knows me in this city and that feeling was a little scary for a moment. Then after thinking for a little bit longer it was actually a very liberating feeling. I don’t have to do what people expect of me, I can just be me. 
  
Something else I got to thinking about while I was at the park was that I think it’s important to look at the things we enjoy doing when there are no expectations. 

I was a reading a book on human rights, for fun. Not because I had to for a class or for work, but simply because I enjoyed it and found it interesting. 

I have read in several places (none of which I can remember now) that if you think about the thing you do when you are taking a break from the thing you are supposed to do then that may indicate what you should put your energy and effort into. Not sure if that entire sentence made any sense. Essentially, that means don’t put your time and effort into something that doesn’t bring you any happiness. 
This is how I strive to live each day. 

Later in the evening, I ate a baguette on the canal and had a beer with one of my dorm mates. 
   
 A pretty solid end to a pretty great weekend. 

Leave a Reply

