France – Day 3

Today was mostly a day of reflection. 

I began the day by going to Sacré-Cœur, which took about 45 minutes of walking from my hostel. I went with a new friend of mine who I met in the hostel. Neither of us really knew where we were going, so we took our maps and set foot in the right direction.  
 

Our journey began along the canal and then we started to get a little confused. On one of the roads there were probably close to 50 tents under a bridge where people were sleeping. I was shocked about the number of people that were living under this bridge. It was one of those moments when you realize just how difficult life can be, and makes you appreciate your current condition. 

It saddened me when I thought about how I had been concerned about what to eat, what to wear, where to stay and what to see while in Paris, while all these people were probably thinking about their next meal. Seeing something like that up close really changes your perspective. 

This is one of the biggest reasons why I love travelling. 

After Sacré-Cœur, we made our way through some of the cute streets of Mantmantre. We stumbled upon a chocolate shop where they had some amazing finds. I bought my first traditional French macron, 1 chocolate flavour and 1 salted caramel flavour. Salted caramel was divine.  

 

We then made our way to the Mantmantre cemetery. This cemetery was massive, there was a lot to see and is definitely worth the look. 

I spent the rest of the day relaxing in the park, reading and writing in my journal. I really enjoyed this time spent in the park, I got to people watch, read an interesting book on human rights and think about life and think about the things I had seen earlier in the day. 

  

Travelling truly does change your perspective. That is why I always encourage people to get out, explore and meet people. There is so much complexity to the human experience and travel is a wonderful to see it for yourself. 

Leave a Reply

