Need to make a decision? Meditate on it.

Everyday we are faced with decisions, whether small or large, simple or complex. 

Sometimes those decisions can be overwhelming. Especially when you are getting advice from several different parties. All offering great, but confusing advice. 

So what do you do when you just need to make a decisions? When you get so frustrated with everyone’s advice that you just want to scream? 

Yeah, this happened to me recently. I won’t go into details, but I needed to make a pretty significant decision and I was seeking advice from several family members and friends. All of them had excellent advice but none of them seemed to sit right with me. 

I found myself getting agitated every time they made the same suggestion, so I decided that I needed to silence the noise in my head and figure out exactly what I wanted to do, not what I thought I should do based on other people’s opinions. 

So I sat on my yoga mat and meditated

Rather than focusing on my breath, I asked myself the question of interest. I then paid special attention to the feelings I associated with each piece of advice. Attaching feelings to each decision helped me determine what answer best suited me.  

Next time you’re faced with a tough decision give meditation a try, you may be surprised by the outcome. 

Leave a Reply

